Memphis 60

Various Artists

1. The Hawg Pt 1 - Eddie Kirk
2. The Spoiler - Eddie Purrell
3. I Won't Cheat On You No More - Willie Walker (Previously Unissued)
4. Double Up - L.H. And The Memphis Sounds
5. I Don't Know - The Dixie Nightingales
6. Let The Best Man Win - Unknown (Previously Unissued)
7. I'm Going Home - Prince Conley
8. She's Fine She's Mine (You Don't Love Me) -Willie Cobbs
9. Tramp - Junior Kimbell
10. Blue Groove - Sir Isaac & The Do-Dads
11. Assassination - The Dixie Nightingales
12. . When My Love Comes Down - Ruby Johnson (Alt Take)
13. Man About The House - Barbara Brown (Previously Unissued)
14. Ticket To Ride - Willie Walker
15. Shake Shake Shake - Willie Bollinger (Previously Unissued)
16. Soul City USA - Spencer Wiggins
17. She's About A Mover - Percy Milem
18. Restless - The Cobras
19. Nothing But The Truth - Ann Hodge
20. The Side Winder - The Lyrics with the Top Notes
This CD is a gem. Some very collectable items including 'The Spolier by Eddie Purrell' this has been a favorite dancer with me for many years. What a surprise to see such a stunning photo of him in the CD booklet, not much is known about him other than he was managed by Otis Reddings manager Phil Walden. From the Hollywood label Packy Axton (Mar-Keys) Double Up with a great back to back guitar and sax solo. Early Steve Cropper instrumental with the Cobras. Even Gospel from the Dixie Nightingales with the very soulful Assassination. Uptempo Spencer Wiggins on Soul City USA from Goldwax. Plus four unissued fine recordings to sum up Memphis in the 1960's. Fascinating booklet by Dean Rudland. Issued on Ace BGP CDBGPD 201.