Sweet Soul Music

Best Of

Arthur Conley


  1. I'm A Lonely Stranger
  2. Who's Fooling Who
  3. In the Same Old Way
  4. I Can't Stop (No, No, No)
  5. Take Me (Just As I Am)
  6. Sweet Soul Music
  7. Let's Go Steady
  8. Wholesale Love
  9. Shake, Rattle & Roll
  10. Whole Lotta Woman
  11. People Sure Act Funny
  12. Funky Street
  13. Get Yourself Another Fool
  14. Run On
  15. Otis Sleep On
  16. Put Our Love Together
  17. Aunt Dora's Love Soul Shack
  18. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da
  19. Star Review
  20. They Call The Wind Maria
  21. God Bless
  22. Nobody's Fault But Mine

Prompted by the death of Arthur Conley (17/11/ 2003) this CD issued by Ichiban as part of there Soul Classics series in 1995 deserves seeking out. This compilation is indeed his best work from 1965 until the beginning of the 70's. Includes his first issue on Jotis, Otis Redding's label, through to his fine recordings at Fame studios in Memphis and later at Atco. Although he was signed to Atlantic and never had a record issued on the Stax record label, he came on the Stax artists Stax-Volt Revue tour of Britain and Europe in 1967, singing with Otis Redding and others. Their close relationship with Otis as his manager and mentor can be heard on the tribute, "Otis Sleep". From the first opening track "I'm A Lonely Stranger" his superb deep soul singing can be heard. The exciting sound of "Sweet Soul Music" (1967 recorded at Fame charted BB No 2) contrasted with the B side "Let's Go Steady" another deep soul treasure as was "Let Nothing Separate Us" (not on this comp). The liner notes in the pull out booklet document his recording career in some detail. Although this CD is not now generally available it can be found. Issued on Ichiban SCL 2105-2 USA