A Fine Time!

The South Side Of Soul Street

Various Artists

1. Genie Brooks - Fine Time
2. Willie Cobbs - Don't Worry About Me
3. Willie Gable - Eternally
4. Leroy Lloyd and the Dukes - Sewanee Strut
5. Johnny Dynamite - Everybody's Clown
6. Doris Allen - A Shell of a Woman
7. The Double Soul - Blue Diamonds
8. Genie Brooks - South Side of Soul Street
9. Candy & Billy - The Judgement
10. Gable Reed - Who's Been Warming My Oven
11. The Double Soul - I Can't Use You
12. Johnny Dynamite - The Night the Angels Cried
13. John Hamilton & Doris Allen - Bright Star
14. John Hamilton & Doris Allen - Them Changes
15. Genie Brooks - Helping Hand
16. Willie Cobbs - You Have Done Me Wrong
17. The Double Soul - Unfinished Sympathy
18. Johnny Dynamite - Money Man

A Fine Time is indeed a very fine CD compilation. The first full look at a small southern soul label Minaret Records from Florida, which was full of southern soul. From the late sixties we have a range of deep soul to the funky 1970's. The stomping Them Changes by John Hamilton & Doris Allen. Not a dud track in sight and a pity they did not include the A side of Willie Cobbs Don't Worry About Me, the very collectable I' II Love You Only. You may be wondering why Candi Staton is on the cover? well she's the other half of Candy & Billy, and Billy who sounds very much like Joe Tex on The Judgment. Issued on Sundazed SC 11153 USA.