Rock A Shacka Vol. 11

Do The Push Push

Various Artists

rock a shacka cd cover


1. A Deh Pon Dem - Rita Marley & The Souletts
2. El Bang Bang - The Carib Beats
3. Don't Wait For Me - Albert Tomlinson
4. Things Going Wrong - Lloyd Charmers
5. Do The Push Push - Lee Perry
6. Tropic Island - Jackie Mittoo & The Soul Vendors
7. I Made Mistake - The Termites
8. Let Me Hold - Marcia Griffith
9. Give Me Little Sign - Owen Gray
10. Man Of Many Chances - The Three Tops
11. Summertime - Roy Richards & The Soul Vendors
12. Bogaloo With Me - The Gaylords
13. Easy Squeeze - Alton Ellis & Hortense Ellis
14. Groovie Kind Of Love - Hortense Ellis
15. Last Waltz - The Soul Vendors
back button

Vol.11 to me is probably the best compilation so far, more good Studio One Rock Steady from around 1967/8. Bobby Aitken with the oriental "El Bang Bang" (El Bam Bam original issued on Island). Great Jackie Mittoo organ with "Tropic Island " and yet another version of "Summertime" on mouth organ by Roy Richards. The Marcia Griffiths track is a bouncy version of "Hold Me Tight" by Johnny Nash. Followed by Owen Gray and a soulful "Give Me Little Sign". Is that the smiling face of Tommy McCook on the cover? This is a good compilation for your collection. Licensed by DownBeat Records issued on Rock A Shacka CD UPCH 1306 Japan.

Note Update following the issue of the above CD in Feb 2004 tracks 3 & 4 have now been changed, track 3, Jail House- Mr Foundation & track 4, People Get Ready - The Minstrels. The CD has been repressed with new number UPCI -1009.