Knock Out Ska
Various Artists

knock out ska cd cover
  1. Knockout Punch - Don Drummond
  2. Magic - Rico Rodriguez, Roland Alphonso and Dizzy Moore
  3. Don't Trouble People - Alton Ellis and the Flames
  4. Hold Me Tenderly - Owen and Leon Silvera
  5. Twilight Zone - The Baba Brooks Band with Lyn Taitt
  6. My Girl - The Melodies
  7. So Long - Lester Sterling with the Baba Brooks Band
  8. Penny Reel - Eric "Monty" Morris with Justin Hinds and the Dominos
  9. You Don't Know - The Techniques featuring Slim Smith
  10. Over The River - Justin Hinds and the Dominos
  11. Cool Smoke - Don Drummond
  12. What Makes Honey - The Duke Reid Group
  13. My Pussy - Stranger Cole
  14. How Soon - Tommy McCook and the Supersonics
  15. Lion of Judah - Justin Hinds and the Dominos
  16. Vacation - The Melodies
  17. The Yellow Basket - Tommy McCook
  18. Don't Gamble with Love - Hortense Ellis and Alton Ellis
  19. Spider - Don Drummond with The Baba Brooks Band
  20. Yea Yea Baby - Stranger Cole and Patsy Todd with The Baba Brooks Band
back button Duke Reid produces all tracks for his Treasure Isle studio and record label around the early to mid sixties. It states on the CD that most of the track have never appeared on CD. Well, five of the 20 tracks have appeared before in some form or other. Highlights are the vocal tracks by Alton Ellis, Owen and Leon Silvera, Stranger Cole and The Melodies. Who is playing the organ on the vocal tracks? not credited under Musicians in the booklet by Chris Wilson. Some nice instrumentals tracks not issued before by Don Drummond and Tommy McCook. The CD is a little disappointing when you consider the usually high standard from Heartbeat records. Poor cover and I think I've seen every photograph in the booklet before.Wins on points rather than a 'Knock Out'! Issued on Heartbeat HBCD 7730 (USA).