Dave Godin's Deep Soul Treasures Volume 5 CD

Various Artists

1. Who Knows – The Soul City

2. Without Love – Ronnie Taylor

3. Don’t Pass Me By – Big Maybelle

4. Where Is The Party – Helena Ferguson

5. Dead! – Carolyn Sullivan

6. Home Is Where The Hatred Is – Esther Phillips

7. I Ain’t Got To Love Nobody Else – The Masqueraders

8. I’ll Be Right There (To Make Love To You) – Mark IV

9. I’m Not The One – Kenny Carter

10.Somebody New – The Emotions

11. (Until Then) I’ll Suffer – Barbara Lynn

12. Foolish Fool – Dee Dee Warwick

13. My Desires Are Getting The Best Of Me – George Jackson

14. These Ain’t Raindrops – James Carr

15. Standing At The Crossroads – Eddie & Ernie

16. Can’t Last Much Longer – Betty Harris

17. Lovers Always Forgive – Gladys Knight

18. Every Night (I Pray) – The Chantels

19. Satisfaction Guaranteed – Judy White

20. Right Here Is Where You Belong – Jerry Washington

21. I Will – Lattimore Brown

22. It’s Too Late (For Tears) – RenĂ© Bailey

23. All I Want Is You – Zilla Mayes

24. What Can I Do (Without You) – Linda Jones

25. Nothing Can Change The Love I Have For You – Z.Z.Hill


It states on the back of the CD "Deep Soul sides of significance selected by Dave Godin, including some he wanted from day one - available at last". Six of the tracks on this CD are already available on other Ace CD's or LP's. Dave Godin passed away in 2004 before he was able to finish the next CD in the series. The first 4 tracks are outstanding. Carolyn Sullivan track "Dead" is not deep soul IMO! Other gems are by The Emotions, George Jackson, Judy White, Zilla Mayes and Z.Z.Hill.  If you're new to deep soul music selected by Dave Godin you will enjoy this CD. If you are a life long fan you will be disappointed. The fact that the sleeve notes are not by Dave Godin but by guest writers and using snippets from his writings from Blues and Soul magazine does not impress me. This should have been marketed as a Tribute to Dave Godin's Deep Soul Treasures. Sadly, it does not compare to the other four CD's in the series. Booklet by Ady Croasdell with an introduction by Jon Savage. Lovely picture of the girl group The Chantels on the front cover. Issued on KENT CDKEND 485.