Merritone Rock Steady 1

Shanty Town Curfew 1966-1967

Various Artists

merritone rock steady cd cover
1. Roland Alphonso - Sai Pan
2. The Renegades - You've Lost The Love
3. The Ethiopians - You Got To Be Clean
4. Henry Buckley - Beware Of All Those Rude Boys
5. The Tartans - What You Gonna Do Now
6. Roland Alphonso - Stranger For Durango
7. The Renegades - Knocking On My Door
8. Soul Brothers - Shanty Town Curfew
9. Oswald Sewell - Where Can He Go
10. Henry Buckley - If I Am Right
11. Roland Alphonso - How Soon
12. Pulus - Sow To Reap
13. The Renegades - Big And Fine
14. Black Brothers - Born To Rule
15. Laxton Ford - Finders Keepers
16. Hopeton Lewis - Run Down
17. Oswald Sewell - Oh My Love
18. Hopeton Lewis - Pick Yourself Up
19. The Tartans - Dance All Night
20. The Tartans - What Can I Do
21. The Federal All Stars - Merritone False Starts 1
back button Intereresting compilation from the Jamaican Federal Recording Studio in Kingston and from 1966-67. All recordings produced at the Federal Studio. The story and history of the studio is told with various reflection's/interviews from 1954, the studio was at 129 King Street, Kingston where Ken Khouri began manufacturing the first locally pressed records in Jamaica. Most of the tracks are taken from the master tapes and the sound quality is very good. There is a nice booklet/photos (Lynn Taitt on the cover) and notes by Harry Hawkes. Unfortunately, there are no details apart from the track listing about any of the records on the CD. Some will be familiar but others are not. Lets hope for more details in CD 2 Merritone Rock Steady 2: This Music Got Soul 1966-1967 which is to follow soon, October 2016. Issued on Dub Store Records DSR CD 006 Japan.